Thoughts on Social Media

January 11, 2011

3 Hours a Day Keep the Stone Age Away, No?

Filed under: Uncategorized — yenimedia @ 2:19 pm

One of my new year’s resolutions is to read the news and do social media for two or three hours first thing in the morning.  Three hours a day is a significant time commitment, but I have found that they pass very fast as I browse through my favorite sites and share the best links with my social media networks. 

There is so much information out there, though, that I barely feel like I have caught a glimpse of all that’s going on, even after three hours of concentrated browsing.  There are websites I don’t even touch in my daily routine although I know they contain information I need and wouldn’t find elsewhere. 

At the moment, the sites I visit are Cnn.com, Nytimes.com, jsonline.com, and mashable.com.  This way, I get a good mix of news, opinion, video, and social media related stuff.  But seriously, reading the news could be turned into a full-blown 40 hours a week job, and I would still be missing things.  All I’m hoping is that I am doing enough to keep up with developments enough to avoid becoming a stone ager.  I’ll see if my plan works out.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.